What is Tight Modern?

Tight Modern is the world’s smallest temporary pop-up gallery; an 8ft x 5ft miniature replica of the iconic Tate Modern, showcasing talented under-represented artists from across the UK. It has now run 6 times in 10 years, featured 325 artists, toured to 24 venues and been seen by over 284,000 people.

The national competition to be included in the Tight Modern has been held five times and shown that under-represented artists come from all walks of life and all kinds of backgrounds. We have brought new art to new audiences and taken new artists to established art galleries in an innovative and exciting way. It has enabled hundreds of the UK’s best under-represented artists who face extreme barriers due to mental health, disability, identity, health or social circumstance to get their work seen.  Tight Modern artists have gone on to build successful careers, sell work, exhibit widely and speak of the Tight Modern as the catalyst in their career.

Currently, Tight Modern is being redeveloped as part of a larger visual arts revamp at Creative Future but you can see the wonderful artwork displayed at Tight Modern throughout the years on this website.

Creative Future

Founded in 2007, we provide training, mentoring and the chance to publish or exhibit to talented people who lack opportunities due to mental health issues, disability, identity or other social circumstance. View our website here

We also run an annual programme of workshops and courses throughout the South East for writers and artists at all levels of experience and ability.